Porterfield knocks ton as Pakistan restrict Ireland to 237

Shukriya Pakistan

ADELAIDE: Irish captain William Porterfield scored a brilliant century as the team posted 237-10 in a do-or-die World Cup clash against Pakistan here at Adelaide Oval.

Ireland, who won the toss and elected to bat first, lost opener Paul Stirling early in fourth over with only 11 runs on board. Stirling (3) lost his wicket after he was lbw by rookie pacer Ehsan Adil.

Ed Joyce (11) was the next to return to pavilion after Umar Akmal took his catch off pacer Wahab Riaz in 13th over.

Niall O’Brien (12) also failed to give much support to opener Porterfield after losing his wicket to pacer Rahat Ali as Akmal took another catch with Ireland scorecard showing 86-3 in 16.4 overs.

Pakistan’s batting all-rounder Haris Sohail, who replaced Younus Khan after recovering from injury, removed Andy Balbirnie (18) after Shahid Afridi took a brilliant catch.

After Ireland reached 182 in 38.5 overs, skipper Porterfield (107) finally gave in as pacer Sohail Khan took his wicket as Afridi took the catch. Wicket-keeper Gary Wilson (29), the second highest scorer for the Irish in the match, soon followed Porterfield after Sohail took his second wicket while Wahab Riaz took the catch with Ireland on 189-6 in 40.3 overs.

Rahat Ali took his second wicket when he removed Stuart Thompson (12) as Akmal took the catch. Wahab Riaz then sent Kevin O’Brien (8) back to the pavilion as Sohaib Maqsood took the catch with Ireland score of 216-8 in 47.1 overs.

Wahab Riaz took his third wicket in the final over of Ireland inning as Umar Akmal took the catch of John Mooney (13). Ireland lost their tenth wicket on the last ball of their inning after wicket-keeper Sarfraz Ahmed collected a throw from Wahab Riaz to remove tail-ender George Dockrell (11) run-out.

Wahab Riaz was the top wicket taker for Pakistan with three but he was a bit expensive conceding 54 in his ten overs. Sohail Khan and Rahat Ali returned with bowling figures of 44-2 and 48-2 respectively. Afridi bowled ten overs conceding 38 without any success.

Haris Sohail took a wicket while conceding 20 runs in his three overs. Ehsan Adil captured a wicket and conceded 31 runs in 7 overs.