Preview: Shahid Afridi under pressure


Pakistan and England will face off in the second T20 of the three match series at Dubai today. England having won the first T20 in convincing fashion will look to finish off the series at Dubai by taking an assailable 2-0 lead.

Pakistan have a lot of grey areas in the T20 side and in little time they will have to stage a comeback in the series. Meanwhile the inclusion of Shoaib Malik and Ahmed Shahzad in the side is still uncertain and it will be decide just before the match whether they will play or not. Hopefully they will recover in time, especially Shoaib Malik, because we need someone in the middle order to steady the ship in times of pressure.

Captain Shahid Afridi will have a point to prove because he is under considerate amount of pressure due to his lack of form in both batting and bowling. He is the leader of the side which is why his form is absolutely necessary for the Pakistan team.


Pakistan could have done a lot better in the batting department because the flat as conducive for batting. But few poor shots from the batsman and disastrous running between the wickets is clearly not on in a T20 match and that cost Pakistan dearly.

England team is on a glorious run of form right now and can hardly put a foot wrong. The innings from their young guns James Vince, on debut, and Sam Billings were instrumental in setting up a good score. The way they attacked the Pakistan bowling was an absolute delight for cricket fans as they foiled all the plans of the Pakistan bowlers.


Although England lost a few quick wickets up front but they did not bog down and kept on scoring runs at a decent pace with the odd big shot in between which meant that Pakistan could not get a firm grip on the match and consequently England got to a pretty decent target.

Pakistan would be hoping that they can win this second T20 match today and set it up for the final T20 at the historical Sharjah stadium.



Shahid Afridi (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Mohammad Hafeez, Rafatullah Mohmand, Shoaib Malik, Sohaib Maqsood, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan, Wahab Riaz, Sarfraz Ahmed, Anwar Ali, Bilal Asif, Imran Khan, Mohammad Irfan, Sohail Tanvir, Aamer Yamin


Eoin Morgan (captain), Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Jos Buttler, Alex Hales, Chris Jordan, Stephen Parry, Liam Plunkett, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Reece Topley, James Vince, David Willey, Chris Woakes, Adil Rashid