PSL 2017: Zalmi beats Qalandars by 17 runs

Peshawar Zalmi eager to win against Lahore Qalandars
Peshawar Zalmi eager to win against Lahore Qalandars

DUBAI: Peshawar Zalmi beat Lahore Qalandars by 17 runs in their PSL encounter here at Dubai Cricket Stadium and qualified for the league’s play-off games, ARY News reported.

Qalandars started well in their chase of 167-run target given by Peshawar Zalmi but soon their wickets started to fall like a pack of cards and they were 38-0 at one time were sonn 39-6 with four ducks.

Fakhar Zaman, Umar Akmal, Rizwan and Elliott went without scoring a run.

Cameron Delport with his 32 off 15 balls, all-rounders Sunil Narine with their 21 runs Sohail Tanvir’s  runs saved Lahore from a heavy defeat.

Zalmi’s Mohammad Hafeez and Shakib Al Hasan took 2 wickets each.

Earlier, Zalmi won the toss and elected to bat first. Zalmi scored 166 runs at the loss of six wickets, the side’s top scorers were Kamran Akmal and Shakib Al Hasan who scored 58 and 30 runs respectively.

LQ’s star spinner Yasir Shah took 2 wickets while Sohail Tanvir, Aamer Yamin and Sunil Narine took 1 wicket each.

Zalmi rise to the second place in points table after the victory and qualify for play-offs. Qalandars who have 6 points and were on second place till now are now on the fourth place.


Lahore Qalandars XI: Brendon McCullum (capt), Cameron Delport, Fakhar Zaman, Umar Akmal, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Grant Elliott, Sunil Narine, Sohail Tanvir, Aamer Yamin, Yasir Shah, Ghulam Mudassar

Peshawar Zalmi XI: Mohammad Hafeez, Tamim Iqbal, Kamran Akmal (wk), Marlon Samuels, Shakib Al Hasan, Sohaib Maqsood, Darren Sammy (capt), Shahid Afridi, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Asghar