Peshawar Zalmi clinch PSL 2017 title on historic night

PSL Final
Peshawar Zalmi cricketers celebrate after dismissal of Quetta Gladiators batsman Ahmed Shehzad (R) during PSL final at Lahore. —AFP
Shukriya Pakistan

Peshawar Zalmi beat Quetta Gladiators by 58 runs runs to clinch the Pakistan Super League (PSL) trophy in a historic final at Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore on Sunday.

Mohammad Asghar stood out for Zalmi with three wickets, conceding just 16 runs in his designated four overs.

Similar economy was maintained by other Zalmi bowlers too as Gladiators managed to score only 90 runs. Hasan Ali, with his nagging line and length was the second best bowler for the winners with figures of 2-13.

Earlier Quetta Gladiators were in deep trouble as they seemed to be approaching yet another final defeat.

The Gladiators, who lost to Islamabad United in the inaugural edition of the country’s mega twenty20 league lost five wickets in pursuit of 147 runs before 10 overs.

Quetta skipper Sarfraz Ahmed tried to bring things under control when he came into bat in the fourth over after dismissals of openers Anamul Haque and Van Wyk, but the wicket-keeper managed to contribute only 22 runs before he was sent back by Mohammad Hafeez.

In the first innings Zalmi captain Darren Sammy smashed an unbeaten 28 runs off 11 balls to help his team post a total of 148 runs for the loss of six wickets.

The West Indies skipper launched three sixes, two of which came in the last over of the innings, after Zalmi were in some problem courtesy extremely economical bowling by Gladiators spinners Mohammad Nawaz and Zulfiqar Babar.

Reyad Emrit, who was picked by the Gladiators just before the final as replacement for the foreign players who left the squad amid security fears, took three wickets, conceding just 31 runs in his four overs.

Zalmi lost two wickets in the space of three balls as Quetta Gladiators try to come back after an early spanking by the openers.

In-form batsman Kamran Akmal lost his wicket to Hasan Khan who trapped him lbw in the 10th over. Zalmi got into more trouble when West Indies veteran Marlon Samuels also departed at the start of the 11th over.

Akmal contributed 40 off 32 while Samuels added 19 off 17 for his team.

Zalmi openers continued with their blistering form as they posted 46 runs at the five-over mark.

Dawid Malan, Kamran Akmal’s opening partner for Zalmi, departed in the fifth over after scoring 17 off 12 balls.

Sarfraz Ahmed-led Gladiators won the toss and opted to field first.

Zalmi are without their talisman all-rounder Shahid Afridi who suffered a hand injury during their third playoff against Karachi Kings on Friday. The former Pakistan captain was replaced by Iftikhar Ahmed.

Quetta Gladiators had to let go off their top foreign stars Kevin Pietersen, Tymal Mills and Rilee Russow after Lahore was confirmed as the venue for the final. However, they brought in Bangladesh’s Anamul Haque, South African Morne Van Wyk, Zimbabwe’s Sean Ervine and Windies pacer Reyad Emrit.


Peshawar Zalmi:

Kamran Akmal(wk), DJ Malan, MN Samuels, Mohammad Hafeez, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, DJG Sammy(c), CJ Jordan, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Asghar

Quetta Gladiators:

Ahmed Shehzad, MN van Wyk, Anamul Haque (wk), SM Ervine, Saad Nasim, Sarfraz Ahmed(c), Anwar Ali, Zulfiqar Babar, RR Emrit, Mohammad Nawaz, Hasan Khan