PSL franchises unveil names of retained players

HBL Franchises

Pakistan Super League’s franchises revealed the details of their retained and released players on Thursday.

Franchises had to keep nine players, two from Platinum, two from Diamond, two from Gold and three from the Silver category.

Karachi Kings did the biggest trade of this season as they got Shahid Afridi in their ranks from Peshawar Zalmi. Interestingly, Chris Gayle, Kumar Sangakkara, Shoaib Malik and Kieron Pollard are released.

Their retained players are Shahid Afridi and Mohammad Amir in Platinum category. Imad Wasim and Babar Azam are kept in Diamond, while Mohammad Rizwan and Ravi Bopara in Gold category. Usama Mir, Khurram Manzoor and Usman Khan Shinwari are retained in Silver.

Peshawar Zalmi traded Shahid Afridi with Karachi Kings against their Gold and Silver category. On the other hand, their star opener, Tamim Iqbal has also been released.

The defending champion, Peshawar Zalmi, retained Mohammad Hafeez and Wahab Riaz from the Platinum category. While, Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh and Kamran Akmal are kept in Diamond category. The captain, Darren Sammy is shifted to Gold category and Hasan Ali also retained in this category. Haris Sohail Chris Jordan and Mohammad Asghar are Silver category players.

Quetta Gladiators released Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Gul.

Quetta Gladiators, the runner-ups of the first and second season, retained the captain Sarfraz Ahmed and Kevin Petersen in Platinum category. South African flamboyant batsman, Riley Russow and Bangladesh’s Mahmudullah in Diamond category. Asad Shafiq and the allrounder Mohammad Nawaz are kept in Gold category. Whereas, Anwar Ali, Mir Hamza and Umar Amin are retained in Silver category.

Islamabad United released the Australian duo of Shane Watson and Brad Haddin. They have traded Iftikhar Ahmed from Peshawar Zalmi.

The winners of PSL 2016 retained Misbah Ul Haq and Andre Russell in Platinum. West Indian spinner Samuel Badree and Mohammad Sami are placed in Diamond category. The talented pair of Rumman Raees and Shadab Khan are retained in Gold. Ammad Butt, Asif Ali and Iftikhar Ahmed are in the Silver category.

Lahore Qalandars have released their Kiwi allrounder, Grant Elliott and English opener Jason Roy.

They have kept Umar Akmal and Sunil Narine in Platinum, the skipper Brendon McCullum and Champions Trophy hero Fakhar Zaman in Diamond category. Yasir Shah and Sohail Khan are in Gold, while in silver, they have retained Cameron Delport, Aamer Yamin and Bilawal Bhatti.

The list of emerging players is yet to be announced. The new franchise of the PSL, Multan Sultans will select their nine players to get at par with other franchises before the draft for the third edition of the league.