PSL names AB captain of HBL PSL team, while fans disagree

PSL names AB captain of HBL PSL team, while fans disagree

As the fourth season of Pakistan Super League concluded, PSL announced the Team of HBL PSL 2019 on Monday and handed over its captaincy to Lahore Qalandars’ AB de Villiers.

Quetta Gladiators remained the best side of the PSL 4 by a fair margin and went on to win the final of the tournament convincingly at the National Stadium Karachi by eight wickets against Peshawar Zalmi on Sunday.

Fans did not welcome PSL’s decision of naming the South African batting maestro and suggested that Quetta Gladiators’ skipper Sarfraz Ahmed should be named as the captain of the side.

One fan suggested that it should have been either Sarfraz Ahmed, who led Gladiators to the glory, or Multan Sultans’ captain Shoaib Malik who performed well for his team in the PSL 2019.

Another fan called the decision of naming De Villiers as skipper as ‘weird’.

More fans searched the name of Sarfraz Ahmed in the announced team.

Few fans also voiced for handing over the captaincy band to Peshawar Zalmi, Darren Sammy.

Overall, the team consisted one player from Quetta Gladiators, two from Lahore Qalandars, two from Islamabad United, three from Karachi Kings and four from Peshawar Zalmi.

1 – Shane Watson (Quetta Gladiators)

2 – Kamran Akmal (Peshawar Zalmi)

3 – Babar Azam (Karachi Kings)

4 – AB de Villiers (Lahore Qalandars) (C)

5 – Colin Ingram (Karachi Kings)

6 – Asif Ali (Islamabad United)

7 – Kieron Pollard (Peshawar Zalmi)

8 – Faheem Ashraf (Islamabad United)

9 – Wahab Riaz (Peshawar Zalmi)

10 – Hasan Ali (Peshawar Zalmi)

11 – Umer Khan (Karachi Kings)

12 – Sandeep Lamichhane (Lahore Qalandars)