Quetta Gladiators, Peshawar Zalmi set for intense encounter in Karachi


The Pakistan Super League (PSL) season five is in full swing as all the participating teams have played one match each.

Defending champions Quetta Gladiators, Karachi Kings, and Multan Sultans have won their match respectively. Two-time champions Islamabad United, Peshawar Zalmi, and Lahore Qalandars have lost their first match.

Two matches will be played in Karachi and Lahore. In the first match, Quetta Gladiators will face Peshawar Zalmi at National Stadium. Quetta is coming with a three-wicket win against Islamabad in the opening fixture of the tournament.

Peshawar Zalmi, on the other hand, lost to Kings by ten runs courtesy Babar Azam and Imad Wasim splendid batting display with Umaid Asif defending 16 runs in the final over.

Quetta will look to continue their winning run with the high expectations from the overseas opening duo of Shane Watson and Jason Roy. Young Azam Khan will again key batsman for Gladiators in the middle-order as he played winning 33-ball 59.

Mohammad Hasnain will again lead the attack after producing great bowling display against United claiming four wickets and player of the match.

Zalmi will pin hopes from veteran Shoaib Malik and pacer Wahab Riaz who looked totally off-color against Kings. Liam Livingstone who played an aggressive inning of 54 not out along with Zalmi skipper Darren Sammy will play a vital role in the back end of the innings.

The encounter is expected to be an intense thriller as both the teams have been doing this since the start of the PSL. The match between Quetta Gladiators and Peshawar Zalmi will begin at 2 pm.