Rizwan comes in as Misbah finalizes squads for Australia tour


The wicket-keeper batsman Mohammad Rizwan comes in place of Sarfraz Ahmed in the national side as chief selector Misbah-ul-Haq has finalized the T20I and Test squads for Australia tour.

Rizwan has been appointed vice-captain for both Test format and T20I and he will be playing the longer version of the game after three years. He played the only Test against New Zealand and 2016.

According to the sources, Rahat Ali and Imran Khan senior will be making return in Test cricket after long. Mohammad Abbas will lead the bowling charge in two Test matches against the Aussies while Shaheen Shah Afridi and young Mohammad Musa will also be a part of the Test team.

Abid Ali, Shan Masood and Imam-ul-Haq will be the three openers Pakistan will carry with the Test team to Australia.

The sources confirmed that Mohammad Irfan will be returning to T20I cricket after three years. He will be accompanied by Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz and Usman Shinwari.

Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez are not included in the T20I squad.

It must be noted here that the green shirts will play three T20Is against Australia on November 3, 5 and 8 respectively while two matches Test series is scheduled from November 21 to December 3.