Rohit Sharma to open as India announce playing XI for third Australia Test


Sydney: Senior batsman Rohit Sharma will replace Mayank Agarwal and will open the innings for India with Shubman Gill in the third Test against Australia at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

India announced their playing XI earlier today. Pacer Navdeep Saini will debut as the third seamer, replacing injured Umesh Yadav.

Sharma is coming back from a hamstring injury and was also in 14 days’ quarantine on arrival in Australia.

“We are all really excited to have him (Sharma) back in the team, especially with his experience at the highest level, which matters a lot,” said skipper Ajinkya Rahane.

Note, Australia won the first Test by eight wickets with India bouncing back in Melbourne to level the series with their own eight-wicket win.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravi Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj, Navdeep Saini

Read: ‘Always excited to take Rohit Sharma’s wicket’ Mohammad Amir