Sana Mir misses out as PCB announces women’s squad for T20 World Cup


Experienced Sana Mir missed out from Pakistan women’s squad for the upcoming ICC Women’s T20 World Cup, penciled in from February 21 to March 8 in Australia.

The 15-member squad announced by women’s chief selector Urooj Mumtaz will be led by Bismah Maroof. According to Urooj, the best possible players were included in the finalized squad while keeping in mind the Australian conditions.

“I think this squad is competitive with the likes of Bismah, Javeria, Sidra and yes the upcoming star Muneeba Ali. We believe that this team will perform strongly in the mega event,” she said.

To a query about missing Sana Mir from the squad especially in an important event, Urooj said that the decision was taken following her overall performance in recent times.

“Sana’s performance was not up to the mark in her last series against Bangladesh and recently concluded National Triangular T20 Women’s Cricket Championship too. If you see our squad, this is the major change we have made and let me make clear, this decision was taken purely on the basis of performance,” she maintained.

Urooj further said that the announced squad is a mixture of experience and youngsters, overall it keeps the ability to beat world-class teams.

“We have youngsters like Fatima Sana, Muneeba Ali and Syeda Aroob Shah who can deliver at the bigger stage,” she said.

It must be noted here that Pakistan is placed in Group B of the event. The green shirts will play their first match against West Indies on February 26.

The side will be led by Bismah Maroof and includes Aimen Anwar, Aliya Riaz, Anam Amin, Ayesha Naseem, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Irum Javed, Javeria Wadood, Muneeba Ali, Nida Dar, Omaima Sohail, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Nawaz, and Syeda Aroob Shah.