Second ODI: India still searching for their first win


South Africa and India will battle it out once gain at the Holkar stadium in Indoor. South Africa who won a fascinating encounter on last Sunday lead the five match series 1-0.

India have failed to win a match against this Proteas side as they have lost all three encounters (2 T20s and an ODI) during the ongoing tour. This has been surprising for the cricketing world and especially Indian fans as they were expecting a much better performance form the Indian outfit. Ashwin’s injury is another serious blow to Indian’s chances and he will not take a part in the second ODI due to a side strain. He was in the thick of India’s plan to trap and bamboozle the Saffers but his exclusion will be sigh of relief for the visitors as they can now attack the Indian attcak with a lot more confidence and vigor. Harbhajan Singh is likely to replace him if India don’t opt for another fast bowler in Ashwin’s place. Critics and fans will again be closely watching how Dhoni is performing as the pressure mounts on the Indian skipper. He was not able to take his team over the line in the first ODI after being dismissed cheaply in the first ODI.

South Africa on the other hand will look to double their lead in the series and inflict more torment on the Indian side. T20 skipper FAF du Plessis is doubtful to play the second match as he left the field after twisting his knee at Kanpur. South Africa’s lower order hitter David Miller is also under significant amount of pressure because of his prolonged run drought in one day format as he has failed to score a half century in his last 12 ODI outings. South Africa have other players waiting for their opportunity such Khaya Zondo who will be looking forward to making a debut in the second ODI if selectors loose their faith in David Miller. But having said this if Du Plessis does not play the Saffers will most likely not take a chance of dropping Miller.

If South Africa win the second ODI they will be within one point of the Indian team on the official ICC ODI rankings.