Shadab Khan named captain of PSL 2020 team of tournament


Karachi: A four-member independent jury has named all-rounder Shadab Khan as the captain of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) 2020 team of the tournament.

The independent jury comprised of Bazid Khan, Ramiz Raja and Urooj Mumtaz, and Nadeem Khan, who is a member of PSL 2020 technical committee, announced a 12-member team which included six players from Lahore Qalandars, three from Karachi Kings and one each from Quetta Gladiators, Peshawar Zalmi and Islamabad United.

According to event regulations, the team has four foreign players and one emerging category player.

Babar Azam and Chris Lynn are named openers while Alex Hales, Haider Ali, Mohammad Hafeez named middle-order batsmen.

The wicket-keeper role will be served by Ben Dunk while Shadab is placed at six as captain of the side. All-rounder David Wiese is at 8th while Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hasnain, Shaheen Shah Afridi are pacers, placed at 9th, 10th and 11th respectively.

Qalandars opening batsman Fakhar Zaman is named as the 12th member of the side.

Shadab Khan: “I feel honored to have been appointed captain of Team of the HBL PSL 2020, which includes some fine performers from one of the most successful events. However, it hurts that we were unable to make it to the playoffs. We gave our best shot, which was clearly not enough, and means we have to come harder and stronger when the sixth edition is played next year.”

Read: PSL 5 records highest run-rate among all T20 leagues in 2020