Shaheen moves up to ‘Category A’ as PCB announces central contract list


Lahore: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the central contract list for the 2020-21 season, which will come into effect from 1 July 2020, ARY Sports reported today.

Emerging pace bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi and Test captain Azhar Ali have been promoted to Category A. Former captain Sarfaraz Ahmed has been demoted to Category B from Category A. Yasir Shah and Imam-ul-Haq have also slipped a category each.

Naseem Shah and Ifthikar Ahmed are the two new faces in the 18-member list whereas Hasan Ali, Mohammad Amir, and Wahab Riaz have missed out on central contracts.

Furthermore, the PCB has created a new Emerging Players’ Category to reward high-performing young cricketers, and the initial inductees are Haider Ali and fast bowlers Haris Rauf and Mohammad Hasnain.

Pakistan men’s team head coach-cum-chief selector Misbah-ul-Haq said that the philosophy while choosing the players was simple and straightforward.

“The philosophy and criteria for this merit-based central contract list were simple and straightforward: the selectors reviewed player performances in the past 12 months and then looked ahead to our team requirements in the forthcoming 12 months,” he said in a statement released by the PCB.

Misbah also further stated that Sarfaraz is in team management’s future plans because of his experience.

“Sarfaraz has been placed in Category B as he very much features in our future plans. We have some tough cricket lined up over the next 12 months where we will potentially require Sarfaraz’s knowledge and experience,” he added.

PCB Men’s Central Contract List for 2020-21:

Category A: Azhar Ali, Babar Azam, Shaheen Shah Afridi

Category B: Abid Ali, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Mohammad Abbas, Mohammad Rizwan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Shan Masood, Yasir Shah

Category C: Fakhar Zaman, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Naseem Shah, Usman Shinwari

Emerging Players’ Category: Haider Ali,Haris Rauf, Mohammad Hasnain