Shan Masood retained for ODI series against South Africa


The chief selector Inzamam Ul Haq announced a 16-member squad on Wednesday for the five-match ODI series against South Africa with the consultation of head coach Mickey Arthur and skipper Sarfraz Ahmed.

Shan Masood, Pakistan’s prominent performer with the bat in the first two Tests against South Africa, has been retained in the ODI squad as a replacement of injured Haris Sohail.

Masood scored 189 runs in the four innings at an impressive average of 47.25 which included two convincing half-centuries.

Moreover, Mohammad Amir will also make his ODI comeback in the five-match ODI series against the Proteas. He was left out of the 50-over squad for the series against New Zealand.

He was impressive in the first two Tests, taking nine wickets with two four-wicket hauls against his name.

“Amir’s good performance in the Test series not only made him an automatic selection, but also helped us in the decision to rest Abbas,” said Inzamam.

On the other hand, flamboyant batsman, Asif Ali has been replaced by his Islamabad United’s teammate Hussain Talat, who can bat in the top order and can also bowl some medium pacers.

“Asif Ali has been dropped due to inconsistent and below-par performance. In his place, we have decided to give Hussain Talat an opportunity to show his mettle and skills. He is a good left-handed batsman, who can also bowl,” he added.

Sarfraz Ahmed will lead the side, while he will have the services of senior players like Mohammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik, who will add the much-needed balance in the side.

Pakistan’s performance during the Test series has been disappointing so far, conceding an assailable lead of 2-0 in the series. However, they are optimistic for the ODI series against the Proteas which will start from January 19.

Pakistan ODI Squad:

Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain, wicketkeeper), Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Imad Wasim, Imamul Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan (wicketkeeper), Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, Shoaib Malik and Usman Shinwari.