Sharjah: West Indies opt to bowl first after winning toss in first ODI


Sharjah: West Indies skipper Jason Holder has won the toss and opted to bowl first which means that the visitors will be chasing under lights later.

The first of the three match ODI series between Pakistan and West Indies is taking place at the historic Sharjah Cricket Ground. After dominating the visitors in the recently concluded T20 series, where Pakistan whitewashed the West Indies side 3-0, Pakistan will be looking to carry on with the same momentum as they look to win yet another ODI series against their rivals.

Although Azhar Ali has been criticized for Pakistan’s lack luster performance in the ODI format as they are languishing at number 9 in the rankings but he will be confident that he can take advantage of friendly sub-continent conditions and get his side back on track.

On the other hand Jason Holder and his relatively inexperienced side have got their work cut out especially due to their vulnerability against spin and the slow paced pitches in UAE. Holder himself is under pressure to justify his place in the side which is why he has to deal with that and effectively command the troops. Holder was also part of the T20 squad that faced Pakistan but he did not feature in any of the three matches and remained a spectator at the sidelines.


PAKISTAN XI: Azhar Ali, S Khan, B Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, S Malik, S Ahmed, M Nawaz, I Wasim, M Amir, Wahab Riaz, H Ali

WEST INDIES XI: K Brathwaite, J Charles, DM Bravo, M Samuels, D Ramdin, K Pollard, J Holder, C Brathwaite, S Narine, S Benn, S Gabriel