Sindh outclass Northern to lift National U19 Three-Day title


Rawalpindi: A six-wicket haul from right-arm off-spinner Aaliyan Mehmood helped Sindh U19 win the final of the National U19 Three-Day Tournament against Northern U19 at KRL Stadium in Rawalpindi on Tuesday.

Sindh, who recently defeated Northern in the National U19 One-Day tournament final by 53 runs, managed to secure a 194-run comprehensive win in the three-day tournament final.

Beside lifting the trophy, the defending champions Sindh also pocketed PKR 1.5 million as the winning prize, while Northern had to settle for a PKR750,000 runners-up cash prize.

Resuming their innings on 369 for eight, Sindh were bowled out for 379 in 101.1 overs.

Chasing 464 to win from 78 overs, Northern lost three wickets for 44. Mohammad Shoaib Khan and centurion Abdul Faseeh got together and knitted a 165-runs partnership for the fourth wicket. Shoaib scored 86 off 119 balls, hitting eight boundaries. Faseeh top-scored with a 143-ball 105, which included 11 fours.

After the departure of both batsmen, Northern continued to lose wickets at regular intervals and were bowled out for 269 in 69 overs. For Sindh, Aaliyan took six wickets for 58, while Abdul Jaleel grabbed two wickets for 67.

Sindh captain Saim Ayub for his 108 and 134 was adjudicated the best player of the final. He ended the tournament scoring 454 runs from six matches with two centuries and a half-century and was named the best batsman of the tournament.

Adeel Meo from Sindh who scored 282 runs and took 19 wickets from nine matches and Mubasir Khan from Northern who scored 234 runs and took 26 wickets were jointly declared best players of the tournament.

Mubasir Khan was also declared the best bowler of the tournament along with Central Punjab’s Arham Nawab who took 26 wickets from five matches.

Abdullah Butt representing Southern Punjab was declared the best wicket-keeper of the tournament for nine dismissals from five matches.

Source: PCB press release

Read: PCB Challengers crowned winners of National T20 Women’s Cricket Championship