Sindh players included in Pakistan hockey team’s camp


Karachi: Two players from Sindh have been included in the Pakistan hockey team’s camp for the upcoming Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament, ARY Sports reported. 

Ubaidullah Bhutto of Larkana and Aga Aun Ali of Karachi made it to the national team’s training camp, starting from February 10 at National Hockey Stadium in Lahore. Initially, no player from Sindh province was included in the camp which raised many questions over Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF).

Department of Sports and Youth Affairs Sindh put pressure on the PHF to include players from the province which gave world-class players in the past. The secretary of the department Imtiaz Ali Shah, while talking to the media, said that they will not let anyone do injustice with Sindh players.

“We asked the PHF to include players from Sindh too in the training camp for the mega event. Sindh has produced quality players in the past and currently has ample talent who can represent Pakistan at international level,” he said.

Imtiaz thanked the PHF for taking notice of this matter and immediately including two players from Sindh in the training camp. “It is good to see PHF responding to such matters and taking action. I hope a strong squad will be made for the upcoming Azlan Shah hockey tournament,” he added.

It must be noted here that earlier PHF announced 48 players for a training camp ahead of Azlan Shah hockey tournament which is scheduled from April 11 to 18 in Malaysia.

Players’ list include Amjad Ali, Muneeb-ur-Rehman, Waqar, Abdullah, Agha Awn Ali (goalkeepers), Amjad Ali Khan, Mubashir Ali, Rizwan Ali, M Atif Mushtaq, Samiullah Khan, Usama Bashir, Usman Bashir, Arbaz, Abdullah Bhutto, (fullback), Ammad Shakeel Butt, Azfar Yaqoob, Junaid Manzoor, Rizwan Senior, M Adnan, Rashid Mehmood, Aqeel, Asif Hanif, Moin Shakeel, Ihtisham (half-back), Umar Bhutta, Abu Bakar Mahmood, Ajaz Ahmad, Nohaiz Zahid Malik, Faizan, Ahmad Nadeem, Tazeem-ul Hassan, Rana Suhail Riaz, M Sulman Razzaq, Ali Shan, Samiullah, Qazi Asafand Yar, Mohsin Khan, Rana Waheed, Ghazanfar Ali, Hammaddin Anjum, Afraz, Umair Sattar, Rooman, Ali Aziz, Bilawal, Asher Tariq, Zain Ejaz, Hamza (forwards).

On the other hand, six players from Sindh are also included in Pakistan junior team’s camp. The list includes Abdullah Rehman, Abab Ayaz, Shahzaib Khan, Hammad Ayaz, Haris Naseer, Shahbaz Ali, and Ataullah.