Sindh Women’s Hockey League kicks off September 14 in Karachi


KARACHI: Sindh Women’s Hockey League will start on September 14 here at Karachi Hockey Association (KHA) ground. 

As many as eight teams will take part in the event and the teams are named after the wives of former hockey players. These teams are divided into two groups:

Group A

Team Syeda Shehla Raza – Sameera Naseem (captain), Team Meena Hasan – Sanaina Jahanzaib (captain), Team Nighat Manzoor Junior – Kanwal Ajza (captain), Team Tehseen Munawwar – Laraib Chauhan (captain)

Group B 

Team Yasmeen Samiullah – Fareeha (captain), Team Musarrat Hanif – Shazma Naseem (captain), Team Anila Nasir – Sundas Siddiqui (captain), Team Leena Iftikhar – Batool Kazmi (captain)

According to the general manager of the Pakistan Hockey Federation (PHF)’s Sindh Women’s wing and provincial minister Shehla, this tournament will help players prepare for the first CM Punjab Five-a-Side National Women’s Hockey Tournament.

“This tournament will be a good chance for players to prepare for the upcoming event in Punjab,” she said.

“The concept behind naming the teams after the names of wives of former hockey players is to pay homage to their services for Pakistan,” she added.

READ: ‘No parallel organization for hockey will be encouraged’ PHF’s secretary