Six cricketers turn down full season domestic contracts: Reports


Lahore: Top Pakistan cricketers have refused to sign full season domestic contracts offered by the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), reports suggested.

According to sources, these six cricketers are Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Bilawal Bhatti, Kamran Akmal, Wahab Riaz and Mohammad Amir.

They are unhappy with the proposed contract policy and have decided not to sign until the PCB formulates a contract according to their demands.

PCB opted to make quick changes just before the National T20 Cup First XI opener and offered a one-month contract. These cricketers will only receive match fees and daily allowances while taking part in the ongoing event in Multan and Rawalpindi.

Under the contract, they are permitted to follow all policies of the board till October 20 and can decide their future after that. Left-arm pacer Amir signed a two-event contract and was the only player out of six who made himself available for the National T20 Cup and National One-day Cup.

It must be noted that last week PCB announced category based central contracts for 192 players for the ongoing 2020-21 domestic season.

Read: PCB announces criteria-based contracts for domestic players