Sydney Sixers win second BBL title, beat Melbourne Stars by 19 runs


Sydney: Sydney sixers have clinched their second trophy in a rain-affected final, beating Melbourne Stars by 19 runs at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

Sixers posted 116 for five, in a match reduced to 12 overs per inning, with Josh Philippe dominating with 52 off 39 balls. He was highly supported by Australia’s top batsman Steve Smith, who played a cameo of 12-ball 21. Jordan Silk ended the innings with a 15-ball 27 which included one four and a six.

Sixers’ batsmen were in the aggressive mood but the spin duo of Stars, Adam Zampa and skipper Glenn Maxwell put the break on the home side’s score. Both claimed two wickets each.

BBL sensation Haris Rauf looked off-color completely and gave away 36 runs in his three overs whereas Nathon Coulter-Nile also gave away 22 runs in his two overs.

Sixers again dominated the second half as Nathon Lyon got rid of Marcus Stoinis, the leading run-scorer of this year’s edition.

Stars seemed unstable while chasing and were 25-4 in 4.1 overs. James Maddinson, Maxwell, Peter Handscomb all failed.

Coulter-Nile and in form Nick Larkin joined hands together to somehow rescue their team by smashing few boundaries but it wasn’t enough and too late as Stars only scored 97-6 in 12 overs.

Philippe was awarded player of the final for his half-century. It must be noted here that Sydney Sixers claimed the BBL title after eight years. They won the first-ever edition of BBL back in 2012.