SLC introduces Lanka Premier League


Colombo: The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) is all set to return to competitive cricket with Lanka Premier League (LPL), country’s premier Twenty20 tournament. 

According to details, as many as 70 international players will participate in the tournament which is scheduled to take place from August 28 to September 20 with five teams representing different cities. The matches will be played at four international venues across the country.

“Over 70 international players and 10 top-notch coaches have already confirmed their availability to take part in this tournament along with leading Sri Lankan national players,” the board said in a statement.

It must be noted here that SLC started their own cricket league back in 2012 named Sri Lanka Premier League. Only after a single season, the league was cancelled.

Read: Sri Lanka’s Kusal Mendis arrested for killing a man in fatal car crash