Sohail’s five went in vain as India beat Pakistan


Adelaide: Inexperienced pacer Sohail Khan bowled dangerously and captured five wickets but his efforts went in vain as Pakistan was beaten by archrival India defeated them by 76 runs with Virat Kohli knocking impressive century in their World Cup opener here at Adelaide Oval on Sunday.

This is India’s sixth straight World Cup victory against Pakistan as they have maintained their perfect record against traditional rivals, winning all the matches they played at World Cup stage since 1992, when they first met in the big event.

Set to chase a competitive total of 301 runs, Pakistan made a shaky start losing experienced Younus Khan (6 runs) in the fourth over with the team trailed at 11-1. Mohammad Shami took his wicket after Younus misjudged a bouncer, which hit his gloves and was caught by MS Dhoni.

Ahmed Shahzad and Haris Sohail (36 runs) then added 68 runs to the team’s score before the later was caught off Ravichandran Ashwin bowl and Suresh Raina took the catch.

Just as Pakistan crossed 100-run mark, Ahmed (47 runs) lost his wicket with team’s score of 102-3 in 23.2 overs. Umesh Yadav took his wicket as Ravindra Jadeja took the catch. Talented Sohaib Maqsood failed to pile runs and lost his wicket in the same over without scoring a single run. This time Raina took the catch.

Umar Akmal, who was picked at the cost of specialist wicketkeeper Sarfraz Ahmed, couldn’t score a single run either and lost his wicket to Jadeja after Dhoni caught him behind the wickets. Akmal had also dropped a dolly behind the wickets earlier of Virat Kohli, who went on to knock a century.

Swashbuckling all-rounder Shahid Afridi once again disappointed his fans after scoring lowly 22 runs when a big inning was required. Kohli took a marvellous catch after Afridi tried for a big hit on a full toss from Mohammad Shami. Shami removed Wahab Riaz in the same over after Wahab edged and Dhoni easily collected it.

Pakistan almost lost all hopes as Pakistan was trailing on 154-7 in 34.4 overs but skipper Misbah-ul-Haq stepped up and started going for big shots and established 49-run partnership with tail-ender Yasir Shah (13 runs), giving some hopes. Yasir lost his wicket to Yadav while trying for big shot as Mohit Sharma took his catch at mid on.

But he lost his wicket after scoring 76 off 84 balls with team’s scorecard showing 220-9. Ajinkya Rahane took his catch off Shami’s bowl.

Sohail Khan (7 runs) was the last to lose his wicket to Yadav as Sharma took another catch as Pakistanwass all-out for 224 in 47 overs.

Mohammad Shami was the best bowler for India, capturing four wickets giving away only 35 runs in nine overs. Yadav and Sharma took two wickets each while Ashwin and Jadeja hauled one each.

Earlier, Indian openers Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan started the inning for India cautiously before Sohail Khan removed Sharma (15 runs) after he edged in the eighth over as Misbah-ul-Haq took a comfortable catch.

Dhawan (73 runs) then added 123 runs during the second wicket partnership with Virat Kohli before he was run out in 30th over after Misbah’s throw directly hit the wickets.

Meanwhile, Kohli was dropped in the 11th over when Yasir Shah dropped a difficult catch near the boundary on Shahid Afridi’s ball. Makeshift wicketkeeper Umar Akmal dropped Kohli, on 76 in the 32nd over off spinner Haris Sohail’s ball.

Kohli (107 runs) was finally removed by Sohail Khan when Akmal took the catch this time. But Kohli had brought the team’s score to 273-3 in 46th over.

Sohail later also removed Suresh Raina (74 runs) when Haris Sohail took a brilliant catch.

Experienced Wahab Riaz bowled Ravindra Jadeja (3 runs) on the last ball of the penultimate over.

Sohail Khan bowled an impressive last over for Pakistan, removing dangerous MS Dhoni (18 runs) on the first ball and then cleaned bowled Ajinkya Rahane (0) on a slow but clever bowl. Sohail Khan India reached 300-mark on the last ball with 300-7.

Sohail returned with impressive match figures of 5-55 in 10 overs. Pakistan’s top pacer Mohammad Irfan failed to pull any wicket and conceded 58 runs. Shahid Afridi conceded 50 runs off eight overs. Wahab Riaz bowled impressively conceding 49 runs and taking one wicket in his ten overs.

Spinner Yasir Shah was the most expensive bowler for Pakistan as he conceded 60 runs without any success in eight overs. Haris Sohail conceded 26 runs off four overs.