South Africa bat against Ireland


CANBERRA: South Africa captain AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bat against Ireland in the World Cup Pool B match at the Manuka Oval in Canberra on Tuesday.

Both teams have four points each, but South Africa have played three matches to Ireland’s two.

India head the pool with a maximum six points from three games.

The Proteas retained the same side that trounced the West Indies by 257 runs in Sydney last Friday, with fast bowler Dale Steyn set to play his 100th one-day international.

Ireland have dropped Alex Cusack and included an extra slow bowler in off-spinner Andrew McBrine on a dry pitch that promises lots of runs.

Ireland: William Porterfield (capt), Andrew Balbirnie, George Dockrell, Ed Joyce, Andrew McBrine, John Mooney, Kevin O’Brien, Niall O’Brien, Max Sorensen, Paul Stirling, Gary Wilson (wkt)

South Africa: Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wkt), Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw, AB de Villiers (capt), David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Dale Steyn, Kyle Abbott, Morne Morkel, Imran Tahir

Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS) and Ranmore Martinesz (SRI)

TV umpire: Ian Gould (ENG)

Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)

Weather: Cloudy with chance of shower. Maximum temperature of 27 Celsius.