South Africa name two uncapped players in Test squad for Pakistan series


Karachi: Fast bowler Daryn Dupavillon and Ottniel Baartman have earned maiden call-ups to South Africa’s Test squad for the upcoming series against Pakistan.

Both are part of a 21-player squad that will travel to Pakistan for a two-Test series starting on January 26 at National Stadium in Karachi.

Proteas have included three spinners in their squad – Keshav Maharaj, George Linde and Tabraiz Shamsi – and as many as nine pace-bowling options.

Kagiso Rabada and Dwaine Pretorius have been cleared to play after missing the Sri Lanka’s Test series while recovering from groin and hamstring injuries respectively.

The squad will leave for Pakistan on January 15. The T20I squad for the three-match series will start from February 11.

South Africa Test squad: Quinton de Kock (capt), Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Kagiso Rabada, Dwaine Pretorius, Keshav Maharaj, Lungi Ngidi, Rassie van der Dussen, Anrich Nortje, Wiaan Mulder, Lutho Sipamla, Beuran Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, Sarel Erwee, Keegan Petersen, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde, Daryn Dupavillon, Ottniel Baartman

Read: De Kock excited for Pakistan tour but fears of bio-secure bubble