Sri Lanka win toss in ODI opener

Shukriya Pakistan

Harare: Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bowl first in their triangular one-day series opener against Zimbabwe at Harare Sports Club on Monday.

With heavy rains having fallen over the weekend and cloudy skies remaining overhead, Upul Tharanga expected his seamers to enjoy the conditions early on as he captained Sri Lanka for the first time.

Veteran fast bowler Nuwan Kulasekara was named in the Sri Lankan side for the first time since January, and joined a strong seam attack that also included Suranga Lakmal and Nuwan Pradeep.

Zimbabwe left Hamilton Masakadza and Malcolm Waller out of their side after the duo showed poor form in the Test series, allowing Chamu Chibhabha and Sikandar Raza Butt to come in.

Experienced seamer Tinashe Panyangara also made a welcome return, having missed the two Tests against Sri Lanka because of injury.

The triangular series also includes the West Indies, who will take on Sri Lanka at the same venue on Wednesday.


Zimbabwe: Chamu Chibhabha, Brian Chari, Craig Ervine, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza Butt, Peter Moor, Elton Chigumbura, Graeme Cremer, Donald Tiripano, Carl Mumba, Tinashe Panyangara.

Sri Lanka: Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga, Shehan Jayasuriya, Asela Gunaratne, Sachith Pathirana, Nuwan Kulasekara, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep.