Steve Smith named Australia’s T20 captain


Australian selectors have nominated Steve Smith as the new captain for the World T20 which starts next month in India replacing Aaron Finch.

Smith is already a captain for Test and one-day teams. Selector Rod Marsh said, this is the best time to handover T20’s captaincy also to Smith.

Marsh said Finch did excellent captaincy for Australia in T20 matches and he must have benefited a lot from his captaincy, he’s looked upon with great respect in the Australian squad.

However Marsh also said, after Michael Clarke’s retirement Steve was appointed as the captain of test and one-day and this is the appropriate time when Steve is being given the captaincy of all the three formats.

Australia has never won the World T20 title and in the upcoming edition they would be playing against New Zealand on the 8th of March at Dharam Shala.

Speaking at this occasion, Smith said the World cup would be a great challenge for us as it would be a trophy which we have never won.

He said the conditions in India are totally different, where we’ve never been quite successful, though it would be a difficult tour but we are looking forward to play this tournament.

The inclusion of Peter Nevill in the Australian squad is very surprising as he has never played limited – overs international cricket and his recent performance behind the wicket was not impressive

He’s been preferred over Matthew Wade who is a one-day specialist.

Apart from this Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa have also been included in the squad who have never played T20 cricket for Australia.

Australian team comprises of: Steve Smith (captain) Usman Khawaja, David Warner, Shane Watson, Glenn Maxwell, Mitchell Marsh, James Faulkner, John Hastings, Peter Nevill, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood, Aaron Finch, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Ashton Agar and Andrew Tye.

Please follow and like us: