Struggling Pakistan to take on shaky India in Azlan Shah


The stage is set for the big bout in Sultan Azlan Shah Hockey Tournament between Pakistan and India in Ipoh, Malaysia.

The high energy game between the arch rivals is scheduled to start at 03:05 PM as per Pakistan Standard Time.

Pakistan has won this prestigious hockey for three times, but, they have managed just a single win in the three matches they have played so far in 2016 edition. They lost to New Zealand by 5-3 and then Australia got a thumping victory over the Men in Green by 4-0. Pakistan defeated Canada in their opening match by 3-1.

Pakistan and India used to dominate the world of hockey, but, both the teams have lost their dominance. India was also humiliated by Australia with a score line of 5-1, whereas, they also managed to pull off a win against Canada with the same score as Pakistan, 3-1.

Pakistan has struggled in the tournament after an impressive start, they have been inefficient in defending penalty corners, and the weakness was quite visible in their game against New Zealand.

On the other hand, India is standing at the third place on the point table as they have managed two wins in their three games, but, still India’s defense is under fire.

Australia exploited India’s poor defense and netted the ball five times in the game, although, India managed to win the next two games, but, loopholes in their defense were clearly visible that can be utilized by Pakistan.

Pakistan and India both have not exhibited their A game so far in the tournament, but, India has a slight edge over Pakistan.

Pakistan Squad:
Muhammad Imran (C), Ali Shan, Rashid Mahmood, Waqas Sharif, Muhammad Azfar, Muhd Kashif, Ali Shakeep Butt, Ammad Dilbar, Hussain Rizwan Junior, Mashar Abbas, Muhammad Tauseeq, Fareed Ahmad, Syed Kashif, Imran Butt, Muhammad Irfan Rizwan Snr, Shafqat Rasool, Umar Bhutta

India Squad:
Sardar Singh (C), SV Sunil, Harjot Singh, Akash Anil Chikte, Rupinder Pal Singh, Jasjit Singh Kular, Kothajit Singh, Surender Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Danish Mujtaba, Chinglensana Singh, Manpreet Singh, S K Uthappa, Harjeet Singh, Talwinder Singh, Mandeep Singh, Ramandeep Singh, Nikkin Thimmaiah

Please follow and like us: