Super-8 T20 Cup: Abbottabad, Sialkot score wins


FAISALABAD: Rawalpindi Rams and Sialkot Stallions won their respective games in the Super-8 Twenty20 (T20) Cup on Monday, reports.

Rawalpindi Rams defeated Abbottabad Falcons by six wickets.

Abbottabad Falcons scored a low 109 after being bowled out in 19.1 overs. Only two of its batsmen could score in double figures.

Fakhar Zaman made 46 runs while Adnan Raees scored 34 runs for their team.

Pacer Mohammad Amir struck on his first ball as he sent Sajjad Ali’s off stump flying on his first legitimate delivery in the game. He went to take two for 15 in his 2.1 overs.

Hammad Azam was the pick of the bowlers as he took four wickets in his three overs while conceding 12 runs. Mohammad Asghar also took two wickets while Zahid Mansoor dismissed one batsman.

Rams chased the target of 110 in 17 overs with Naved Malik scoring 39 and Zahid Mansoor contributing 32 runs for their team.

Falcons’ Kamran Ghulam took two wickets while Khalid Usman and Fakhar Zaman grabbed one wicket each.

Hammad Azam was named the man of the match.

In the other games, Sialkot Stallions beat Peshawar Panthers by seven wickets.

Batting first, Peshawar scored 166/6 runs in their  20 overs with Israrullah contributing 59 runs and Rafatullah Mohmand making 46 runs for their team.

Umaid Asif of Stallions took two wickets while captain Shoaib Malik, Sultan Ahmed and Usama Mir each took one wicket.

In reply, Sialkot chased the target in 18.1 overs with Shoaib Malik remaining unbeaten at 95 while opener Nauman Anwar making 65 for the team.

Imran Khan took two wickets while Azam Khan dismissed one batsman.

Shoaib Malik was named the Man of the Match.