T20: Pakistan opts to bat first

Shukriya Pakistan

MIRPUR: Pakistan has won the toss and elected to bat first in the only Twenty20 international against Bangladesh in Mirpur, ARY News reported.

Pakistan cannot be termed as favorites despite the fact that Pakistan are among the most successful T20 sides, who are 12th in terms of win, because of their poor performance in ODIs.

Bangladesh, on the other hand, will be much confident as they have just swept the ODI series 3-0, and each of those victories were more one-sided than the previous one. Bangladesh, however, have not played a T20 for more than a year. Their only match in this format after the World T20 at home was washed out in the West Indies in August last year.

Pakistan have won the most T20 internationals. Shahid Afridi’s side has T20 match-winners like Umar Gul, Saeed Ajmal, Sohail Tanvir and Ahmed Shehzad. These players appear in domestic T20 tournaments around the world. Shehzad, Afridi and Tanvir are only part of the T20 side, while Gul and Ajmal have struggled so far in Bangladesh.

Pakistan may have won 50 out of 85 T20s, while Bangladesh only have 11 wins in 41 games, but the number the visitors will want to improve is their zero victories on this tour so far.

Pakistan: 1 Mohammad Hafeez, 2 Ahmed Shehzad, 3 Haris Sohail, 4 Mohammad Rizwan, 5 Sarfraz Ahmed (wk), 6 Shahid Afridi (capt), 7 Mukhtar Ahmed, 8 Sohail Tanvir, 9 Wahab Riaz, 10 Umar Gul, 11 Saeed Ajmal

Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Soumya Sarkar, 3 Mahmudullah, 4 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 5 Shakib Al Hasan, 6 Sabbir Rahman, 7 Nasir Hossain, 8 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 9 Arafat Sunny, 10 Taskin Ahmed, 11 Mustafizur Rahman