T20 World Cup moved to UAE, BCCI confirms


Karachi: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has confirmed that the T20 World Cup will be held in the UAE.

BCCI president Sourav Ganguly on Monday confirmed that the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, originally slated to be held in India, will now be held in the UAE.

“We have officially intimated the ICC that the T20 World Cup can be shifted to the United Arab Emirates. The details are being chalked out,” Ganguly told Indian news agency.

“The decision was taken keeping health safety concerns of all stakeholders in mind,” he added.

As per the current plan, the 16-team event will be played from October 17 to November 14. The first round of the T20 World Cup will be split across two groups and played in the UAE and Oman. Eight teams will fight in round 1 with four teams qualifying for Super 12 round.

The Super 12s phase is scheduled to start from October 24. The Super 12s, where teams will be split across two groups of six each, will be played at three venues in the UAE – Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah. This will be followed by three playoff games – the two semi-finals and the final.

It must be noted that ICC has extended the deadline till June 28 for BCCI to make an official announcement about the tournament.

Read: T20 World Cup to take place in UAE from October 17 to November 14