Tamim Iqbal returns as Bangladesh announces squad for Rawalpindi Test


Dhaka: Bangladesh opener Tamim Iqbal has returned in the Bangladesh Test squad for the Test match against Pakistan at Pindi Stadium in Rawalpindi starting from February 7-11.

Left-arm pace bowler Mustafizur Rehman and left-handed batsman Imrul Kayes have been ruled out due to hamstring injury as they were part of the squad against India last year. In the 14-member squad Soumya Sarkar, Rubel Hossain, and Najmul Hussain Shanto have also made their return. Mominul Haque will lead the side.

Tamim last played in March 2019 against New Zealand in Wellington. Senior batsman Mushfiqur Rahim before the T20I series decided to withdraw from the Pakistan tour completely.

It must be noted that Bangladesh will play the second Test of the series after the conclusion of PSL in Karachi along with one-off ODI.

Bangladesh Squad:

Mominul Haque (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Saif Hassan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mahmudullah, Taijul Islam, Nayeem Hasan, Ebadot Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Liton Das, Abu Jayed, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Soumya Sarkar

Read Also: Faheem, Bilal comes in as PCB announces squad for Rawalpindi Test