Umar Akmal not included in any category for PSL draft

Umar Akmal PSL Pakistan PSL Draft

Pakistan’s middle-order batsman, Umar Akmal has not been included in any category for the draft of Pakistan Super League’s (PSL) fourth edition, a leading newspaper reported.

A committee comprised of national selectors Waseem Haider and Wajahatullah Wasti and the Head of Players Execution Imran Ahmed Khan snubbed the controversial 28-year old batsman due to the ongoing spot-fixing investigation against him.

During an interview Umar Akmal claimed that he was offered lucrative amount to play two dot deliveries, but he refused the offer.

“I was once offered $200,000 for leaving two deliveries. I was also offered to skip matches against India,” he said earlier.

ICC anti-corruption code 2.4.4 and 2.4.5 say, players are bound to report all the corrupt approaches made to them during an event and failure of doing so carry a minimum punishment of five years.

The fourth season of Pakistan Super League will be played from February 14 to March 17 next year.

Franchises have referred categories for the players for the draft of PSL 4.

Platinum Category

The Platinum category has got all the big names including youngsters Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali and Babar Azam.

Sarfraz Ahmed, Fakhar Zaman, Misbahul Haq, Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Hafeez and Kamran Akmal.

Diamond Category

Yasir Shah, Mohammad Sami, Rumman Raees, Asif Ali, Imad Wasim, Usman Shimwari, Sohail Tanvir, Junaid Khan and Mohammad Nawaz.

Gold Category

Bilal Asif, Sohail Khan, Aamir Yamin, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Raza Hasan, Bilawal Bhatti, Hussain Talat, Mohammad Rizwan, Khurram Manzoor, Zulfiqar Babar, Mukhtar Ahmed, Ahmed Shehzad, Sohaib Maqsood, Mohammad Abbas, Shan Masood, Umar Gul, Mohammad Asghar, Haris Sohail , Asad Shafiq, Rahat Ali, Umar Amin, Anwar Ali and Hasan Khan.

Silver Category

Sohail Akhtar, Agha Salman, Gulraiz Sadaf, Salman Irshad, Imran Khan (JR.), Ahmed Butt, Zafar Gohar, Sahibzada Farhan, Mohammad Hasan, Waqas Maqsood, Usama Mir, Tabish Khan, Mohammad Irfan (JR.), Saifullah Bangash, Danish Aziz, Kashif Bhatti, Mohammad Irfan Khan, Saif Badar, Usman Siddiq, Umaid Asif, Hammad Azam, Saad Nasim, Taimor Sultan, Khalid Usman, Khushdil Shah, Ramiz Raja (JR.), Saad Ali, Mir Hamza, Saud Shakeel and Faraz Ahmed Khan.

Emerging Category

Mohammad Azam Khan, Mohammad Junaid, Shameen Gul, Ibtisam Shaikh, Mohammad Arif, Abdullah Shafiq, Hasan Mohsin, Mohammad Taha, Rohail Nazir, Mushtaq Ahmed Kalhoro, Mohammad Hussain and Ghulam Mudasir.