Umar Akmal and Shehzad downgraded, while Afridi and Ajmal overlooked in central contracts


Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced the central contracts for players this year and Ahmed Shehzad and Umar Akmal are dropped to category D, whereas, Shahid Afridi and Saeed Ajmal are overlooked.

Pakistan’s opener, Ahmed Shehzad and middle-order batsman Umar Akmal, who had a B and C categories contracts respectively last year, are given a category D contract.

On the other hand, star allrounder, Shahid Afridi and the Magician, Saeed Ajmal are not given central contracts.

Other than that, Junaid Khan, Fawad Alam, Sohaib Maqsood and Umar Amin are also not entertained by the board with a contract.

However, the T20 skipper of the national team, Sarfraz Ahmed along with the leggie, Yasir Shah are promoted to a Category A contracts along with Misbah Ul Haq, Shoaib Malik, Azhar Ali, Mohammad Hafeez and Younis Khan.

On the other hand, Mohammad Amir is awarded a Category B contract with his fellow pacers, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali and the middle-order batsman, Asad Shafiq.

Pakistan’s newly discovered talented players, Sharjeel Khan, Imad Wasim, Khalid Latif, Babar Azam, Mohammad Nawaz and Hasan Ali are inducted in Category C.

Mohammad Asghar, who did not get a contract last time, has also been awarded for his performances in domestic and Pakistan A team in D Category.

Complete list

Category A: Misbah Ul Haq, Azhar Ali, Mohammad Hafeez, Younis Khan, Shoaib Malik, Sarfraz Ahmed, Yasir Shah.

Category B: Rahat Ali, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz

Category C: Haris Sohail, Mohammad Rizwan, Imran Khan, Shan Masood, Mohammad Irfan, Sami Aslam, Babar Azam, Imad Wasim, Hasan Ali, Khalid Latif, Sharjeel Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Sohail Khan, Sohail Tanvir.

Category D: Ahmed Shehzad, Umar Akmal, Anwar Ali, Zulfiqar Babar, Mohammad Asghar