Pakistan beat Sri Lanka in fifth ODI and registers a 5-0 whitewash.

Pakistan's Usman Khan Shinwari celebrates the dismissal of Sri Lanka's Dinesh Chandimal during their forth ODI cricket match in Sharjah, United Arab Emirates, Monday, Oct. 23, 2017. (AP Photo/Kamran Jebreili)

Pakistan wrapped up the series against Sri Lanka in the ODI in UAE. Having lost the Test series 2-0, Pakistan has bounced back in the 50-over format.

Sri Lanka, who have slipped, stumbled, stuttered and slumped to their third 5-0 ODI whitewash of 2017.

Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq shared an 84-run opening stand before the former was caught behind for 48. Imam, with Faheem Ashraf, completed the win which was their sixth 5-0 series win in ODIs.

Pakistan once again, though, was terrific. The bowlers booked Sri Lanka at 130 runs.

Usman Khan Shinwari only playing his second ODI turned out to be a nightmare for Sri Lankan top order in the 5th ODI, as he picked up 5 wickets in just 4 overs of his opening spell.

He removed S Samarawickrama 0(3), U Tharanga 8(9), D Chandimal 0 (1), N Dickwella 0(2) and TAM Siriwardana 6 (13).

Lahiru Thirimanne and Seekkuge Prasanna put 29 runs together before the top-ranked ODI bowler Hasan Ali came into the attack to remove the left-handed batsman on 19 (31).

The dismissal of Thirimanne hinted another collapse as Sri Lanka lost their seventh wicket on 63 runs, when Shadab Khan ran Thisara Parera out for 16 (34).

Sri Lankan captain Upul Tharanga won the toss and opted to bat as Pakistan looked for a whitewash of the series with a win in the fifth and final match in Sharjah on Monday.

Pakistan, who lead the series 4-0, brought in Faheem Ashraf in place of Junaid Khan while Sri Lanka made three changes from the line up which lost the fourth match by seven wickets, also in Sharjah on Friday.

The Islanders brought in Dushmantha Chameera, Vishwa Fernando and Jeffrey Vandersay in place of Suranga Lakmal, Akila Dananjaya and Lahiru Gamage.


Pakistan: Sarfraz Ahmed (capt), Imam-ul-Haq, Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Hasan Ali, Usman Shinwari, Faheem Ashraf