Wahab Riaz, Ahmed Shehzad handed category C contract

Wahab Riaz, Ahmed Shehzad handed category C contract
Shukriya Pakistan

Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced central contracts for players for 2017. Pakistan’s captain across all three formats of the game, Sarfraz Ahmed has been promoted to category A, while Ahmed Shehzad and Wahab Riaz demoted to category C.

Pakistan’s experienced allrounder Shoaib Malik, who was given a Category B contract earlier, has been named in category A along with Mohammad Hafeez, Azhar Ali, Yasir Shah and Mohammad Amir.

On the other hand, T20is top ranked bowler Imad Wasim, the player of the tournament in ICC Champions Trophy Hasan Ali are promoted to B category. Babar Azam and Asad Shafiq are the two other players in category B.

Pakistan’s left-arm arm speedster Wahab Riaz along with opening batsman Ahmed Shehzad have been demoted to category C contracts for their unimpressive performances during recent times.

The hero for Pakistan in the Champions Trophy final, Fakhar Zaman and the young leggie, Shadab Khan have also been given a category C contract.

Other players in the category include Rahat Ali, Haris Sohail, Sami Aslam, Shan Masood, Sohail Khan, Junaid Khan and Mohammad Abbas.

The category D players include Mohammad Nawaz, Asif Zakir, Usman Salahuddin, Amir Yamin, Usman Shinwari, Fahim Ashraf, Rumman Raees, Inam Ul Haq, Bilal Asif, Mir Hamza, Umar Amin, Mohammad Hasan, Mohammad Asghar and Mohammad Rizwan.

Fawad Alam, Anwar Ali, Zulfiqar Babar, Umar Akmal and Sohail Tanvir have been ignored by the PCB.