WAPDA crowned National Senior Hockey Championship winners


Rawalpindi: WAPDA has been crowned as winners of the 66th National Senior Hockey Championship 2020 after defeating NBP in the final on penalty shootouts at Ayub Park Mari Petroleum Hockey Ground Rawalpindi on Friday.

WAPDA looked dominant since the start of the finale as they claimed three penalty corners in the first two quarters.

Penalty-corner specialist Muhammad Aleem Bilal scored the first goal for WAPDA, throwing the ball into the nets through a powerful angular strike.

The defending champions NBP looked hopeless in front of WAPDA players. WAPDA had a chance to increase their lead to 2-0. Aleem Bilal pushed the ball fearlessly but NBP’s goalkeeper Mazhar Abbas prevented the goal while diving on the left side. The score remained 1-0 at the end of the third quarter.

Dilbar Hussain registered an important equalizer goal for NBP in the final quarter and the match was ultimately decided on penalty shootouts, which was won by WAPDA 2-0.

Earlier, SSCG defeated Pakistan Navy 4-1 to claim the third spot. SSGC’s Mubasshar Ali scored two goals, while one goal each was scored by Ghazanfar and Ahmed Nadeem. The lone goal for the Navy was scored by Shehbaz Ahmed.

WAPDA bagged Rs 300000 along with the glittering trophy. NBP recieved Rs 200000 while SSGC took Rs 100000. A cash reward of Rs 50000 was given away to the player of the tournament Rana Wahid.