Warner, Head score tons to take Australia to 369 runs

Warner, Head score tons to take Australia to 369 runs
David Warner and Travis Head
Shukriya Pakistan

ADELAIDE: Pakistan had a nightmarish outing in the fifth ODI of the series as Australia posted 369 runs on the board at a loss of 7 wickets.

Steve Smith won the toss again and elected to bat first. David Warner started off his inning with a drop catch on the first delivery of the match off Mohammad Amir’s delivery, although it was a tough chance but it cost dearly to the visitors.

Mohammad Amir bowled pretty good first spell, but once David Warner got settled, he punished Pakistani bowlers brutally, however, Travis Head played just the supporting role.

Pakistan were unable to break the opening partnership till they scored 284 runs, which is the second highest 1st wicket stand in ODIs. David Warner scored the fastest century of his career on just 78 balls.

On the other end, Travis Head also brought up his maiden ODI century. The opening duo continued to score freely and took Australia to 284 runs in just 41.3 overs before David Warner was caught at point by Babar Azam on a Junaid Khan’s delivery. He scored 179 runs off 128 balls with the help of nineteen 4’s and five 6’s.

Australia had a solid platform to go all guns blazing and it was expected that Australia might end up at some record total on the board. But the new batsmen could not capitalize the provided start as it was expected.

Steve Smith came one down, struck a boundary on the first ball and got out on the second delivery he faced. Similarly, Glenn Maxwell also failed to dent Pakistan as he scored just 13 runs off 7 balls.

Australia kept losing wickets from one end, whereas, Travis Head kept scoring from other. He was the fifth batsman to be dismissed. He scored 128 runs on 137 balls, his inning comprised of nine 4’s and three 6’s.

Apart from David Warner and Travis Head, the rest of seven batsmen just contributed 51 runs.

Junaid Khan and Hasan Ali took two wickets each leaking 61 and 100 runs respectively. Whereas, Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz took one wicket apiece conceding 71 and 62 runs respectively.