It was clever, don’t think De Kock broke any rules: Bavuma on Fakhar’s run out

0
2943

Johannesburg: South Africa’s captain Temba Bavuma has backed teammate Quinton de Kock over the controversial run out of Pakistan opener Fakhar Zaman during the second ODI at Wanderers.

Fakhar’s splendid innings ended on 193 on the first ball of the final over when a direct hit from Aiden Markram from long-off caught him short of his crease at the striker’s end.

However, it was because of De Kock who was blamed for ‘fake fielding’ as he gestured that the throw was going to the non-striker’s end but it came at the striker’s end.

Read: Fakhar Zaman’s run out: De Kock blamed for ‘fake fielding’

“It was quite clever from Quinny. Maybe some people might criticise it for maybe not being in the spirit of the game. But it was an important wicket for us. Zaman was getting close to our target. Yeah it was clever from Quinny,” Bavuma said after the match.

“You’ve always got to look for ways especially when things are not going your way, got to find ways to turn momentum around. Quinny did that – I don’t think he broke the rules in any kind of way. It was a clever piece of cricket,” he added.

It must be noted South Africa beat Pakistan by 17 runs in the second ODI to level three-match series 1-1. The final match will be played on April 7 at SuperSport Park, Centurion.

Also read: Fakhar’s heroics in vain as South Africa beat Pakistan in second ODI

Comments

comments