West Indies opts to bat first against Zimbabwe


CANBERRA: West Indies won the toss and chose to bat against Zimbabwe in the World Cup Pool B match at Canberra’s Manuka Oval on Tuesday.

The West Indians celebrated their first victory of the tournament with a thumping 150-run win over Pakistan in Christchurch, while Zimbabwe also posted their first points with a four-wicket triumph against the United Arab Emirates.

Darren Bravo was ruled out with hamstring trouble with Jonathan Carter coming into the batting lineup, while Nikita Miller replaced Sulieman Benn who has a back strain.

For Zimbabwe, Chamu Chibhabha and Solomon Mire were replaced by Regis Chakabva and Stuart Matsikenyeri.

West Indies will start favourites to beat Zimbabwe after winning 34 of their previous 44 one-day international encounters against the Africans.

Zimbabwe head into the pivotal match level on points with the West Indies and responding well to their much-travelled coach Dav Whatmore’s methods.

West Indies opener Chris Gayle will again be under scrutiny after he was out for four against Pakistan, dropping his average to 14.42 over 19 innings in the 20 months since his last ODI century.

There were showers forecast later in the day after overnight storms.


West Indies: Chris Gayle, Dwayne Smith, Marlon Samuels, Jonathan Carter, Denesh Ramdin, Lendl Simmons, Darren Sammy, Andre Russell, Jason Holder (capt), Jerome Taylor, Nikita Miller

Zimbabwe: Sikandar Raza, Regis Chakabva, Hamilton Masakadza, Brendan Taylor, Sean Williams, Craig Ervine, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Elton Chigumbura (capt), Tinashe Panyangara, Tendai Chatara, Tafadzwa Kamungozi,

Umpires: Steve Davis (AUS), Ian Gould (ENG)

TV umpire: Ranmore Martinesz (SRI)

Match referee: Richard Kettleborough (ENG)

Weather: Possible showers, maximum temperature 25 Celsius