West Indies announces Test squad, three players refuse to tour England due to virus fears


Cricket West Indies (CWI) have announced the squad for the three-Test series. Three West Indies players have decided to travel to England due to coronavirus fears.

Batsmen Darren Bravo, Shimron Hetmyer, and all-rounder Keemo Paul declined the invitation to tour with the 25-men touring squad.

West Indies have initially named an initial 14-man squad, plus 11 reserves who will train with the squad and be available as replacements if needed.

Read also: West Indies’ ‘bio-secure’ tour to England confirmed

Yesterday, England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has announced the schedule for three-match Test series against West Indies after they confirmed their ‘bio-secure’ tour to the UK in July.

The first Test between West Indies and England will be played from 8-12 July at Ageas Bowl. The second Test is scheduled from 16-20 July at Emirates Old Trafford while the last Test will be played from 24-28 July at Emirates Old Trafford.

West Indies squad will arrive in the UK on Tuesday [9 June], traveling to Emirates Old Trafford for quarantining and training. This will be their base for a three-week period before moving to the Ageas Bowl for the start of the first Test.

West Indies squad: Jason Holder (captain), Jermaine Blackwood, Nkrumah Bonner, Kraigg Brathwaite, Shamarh Brooks, John Campbell, Roston Chase, Rahkeem Cornwall, Shane Dowrich, Chemar Holder, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Raymon Reifer, Kemar Roach

Reserve players: Sunil Ambris, Joshua da Silva, Shannon Gabriel, Keon Harding, Kyle Mayers, Preston McSween, Marquino Mindley, Shane Moseley, Anderson Phillip, Oshane Thomas, Jomel Warrican

Read also: PCB is not ready with ‘bio-secure’ environment for players’ training