Wijegunawardene replaces Jayasuriya as head of SLC

Shukriya Pakistan

COLOMBO: Former Test seamer Kapila Wijegunawardene was on Wednesday named the new head of Sri Lanka’s selection committee following the resignation of Sanath Jayasuriya after the World Cup.

Ex-wicketkeepers Brendon Kuruppu and Amal Silva and middle-order batsman Hemantha Wickramaratne are the other new selectors announced by the interim committee running Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC).

Former batting great Jayasuriya, who served as chief selector for two years, resigned last week in the wake of Sri Lanka’s quarter-final exit from the tournament held in Australia and New Zealand.

Soon after the tournament, sports minister Navin Dissanayake dissolved the SLC administration and appointed an interim committee headed by former Test batsman Sidath Wettimuny for an indefinite period.

Sri Lanka face a busy year ahead with tours by Pakistan, India and the West Indies to the Island nation. -AFP